Year 43 • 2021 • 1,287 contestants (1,033 individuals + 127 pairs)


First tournament conducted virtually, on account of the lingering Covid-19 pandemic. The puzzles were solved using software from Amuse Labs. The production was handled by the Canadian broadcast firm Waveform. The weekend highlights included a photo retrospective of past ACPT champions, 1978-2019, by Don Christensen; “Crossword Call My Bluff” by Adrienne Raphel; and a “Crossword Show Olio” by Zach Sherwin. Patrick Berry received the MEmoRiaL award for lifetime achievement in crossword construction. The ceremony included films by Stephen Berry, Nancy Coughlin, and Marie Haley. For the first time Matt Ginsberg’s crossword-solving program, Dr. Fill, recorded the top score on Puzzles #1-#7. In Sunday’s playoffs Tyler Hinman completed the “A” division playoff puzzle perfectly in 3 minutes, beating runner-up Erik Agard by 8 seconds, to take the $3,000 grand prize.


  • 1st  - Tyler Hinman, San Francisco, CA

  • 2nd - Erik Agard, Kansas City, MO

  • 3rd  - David Plotkin, Gainesville, FL

  • Junior - Paolo Pasco, Cambridge, MA

  • Fifties - Doug Peterson, Pasadena, CA

  • Sixties  [tie:] - Jon Delfin, New York, NY, and Al Sanders, Plymouth, MA

  • Seventies - Susan Hoffman, St. Petersburg, FL

  • Senior - Gil Knipe, Torrance, CA

  • Nineties - Miriam Raphael, Rye Brook, NY

  • Rookie - Paolo Pasco, Cambridge, MA

  • Pairs - Evan Birnholz and Vicki Jones, Drexel Hill, PA

Complete list of Prize Winners


Final update - May 1, 2021